Skip to main content
'''The University of Scranton''' is a private, co-educational Catholic and Society of Jesus|Jesuit university, located in Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States, in the northeast region of the state. The school was founded in 1888 by Most Rev. William O'Hara, the first Roman Catholic Diocese of Scranton|Bishop of Scranton, as '''St. Thomas College'''. It was elevated to university status in 1938, taking the name the University of Scranton. The institution was operated by the Diocese of Scranton, and later the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools|Lasallian Christian Brothers, from 1888 to 1942. In 1942, Bishop William Joseph Hafey invited the Society of Jesus to take charge of the university. Today, The University of Scranton is one of 28 member institutions of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities and is served by the Scranton Jesuit Community. The university is...
Image nameUniversity of Scranton seal.png
Latin nameUniversitas Scrantonensis
Motto''Religio Mores Cultura'' ({{small|Latin}})
Mottoeng''Religion Morals Culture''
TypePrivate university|Private Nonprofit
Research Coeducational
AffiliationRoman Catholic Church|Roman Catholic (Society of Jesus|Jesuit)
EndowmentUS $162.4 million
PresidentRev. Kevin Quinn (academic)|Kevin P. Quinn, Society of Jesus|S.J.
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid